The primary purpose of the Florida Association of Reflexologists is to promote dialogue throughout the reflexology community as a means of creating unity among all reflexologists and all reflexologies for the further advancement of the field of reflexology. Further purposes include, but are not limited to:

  • Monitoring and responding to laws and regulations involving reflexology within the State of Florida.

  • Creating an open and respectful environment that acts as a bridge for communication among professional reflexologists welcoming all reflexologists to state their views on statewide and common concerns.

  • Establishing standards and ethics for the reflexology practitioner.

  • Encouraging continuing education so that the members may serve the best interest of their clients and the profession.

  • Promoting reflexology to the public and other health care professions as a complementary health practice.



of Florida


It seems logical that Florida should have a reflexology association. 


After all, the ‘Mother of Reflexology’, Eunice Ingham spent a good amount of her reflexology years operating from the west coast of our state, and without her tireless efforts reflexology in the western world likely would not exist. If Ingham had not offered reflexology to unlicensed practitioners (chiropractors, naturopaths, chiropodists, massage and physical therapists) following the medical profession’s decision not to use, the art might very well have died.



& Ethics

Specific techniques and areas of application define the unique quality of reflexology as opposed to any other discipline. The traditional practice of reflexology primarily focuses on the theory of reflex maps and their representation on the feet, hands and outer ears.

Reflexology is a specific modality of somatic bodywork. It is a protocol of manual techniques, such as thumb and finger-walking, hook and backup and rotating-on-a-point, applied to specific reflex areas. These techniques stimulate the complex neural pathways linking body systems, supporting the body’s efforts to function optimally.





President - Gail L. Lanning, NBCR, LMT

Vice President - diane Wedge, NBCR

Treasurer - Terry MacIvergan

Secretary - Karen Ball, NBCR, LMT 

Director - Lorna Eaton, NBCR, LMT